Ref on Bbc tees clarifies the rule

Rofesleg

Active member
If the ball doesn’t travel a full circumference which is 28inches before striking the ball with his intended foot then it’s not classed as a 2nd strike

OMG

The referees don’t even know the rules!
I think that's nonsense. The laws simply state that the player taking the penalty can't touch it once it has started moving.
The circumference thing I believe relates to when a second person is allowed to touch it.
 

chickenrunner

Well-known member
He has no choice but to accept it
He had no choice but to accept that the Norwich player wasn't sent off but he still (rightly) had a good go about it. When it came to the slip he accepted to outcome and made a crack about rollicking the groundsman. Somehow I don't think he would have done that if he had been in any doubt about the decision.
 

ThePrisoner

Well-known member
Hmmm, Im really not sure where that came from. The rules seem really clear -

"The penalty kicker must not play the ball again until it has touched another player."

There was a match between Leicester and Man City a few years ago where exactly the same thing happened. Riyadh Mahrez for Leicester I think.

I don't know if Tav kicked it twice, but the ref was about 60 yards closer than the tv camera, and Krul and others seem to have seen it. The fact that Tav doesn't protest seems to indicate he knew it had happened. And would he have kicked it right down the middle of the goal if he hadn't deflected it? I doubt it.
Yes I read the law and says nothing about 28 inch circumference. Unless it's in a technical guide for refs but something that specific would be in the actual law surely? I have a vague memory hearing sometime in the past that the ball had to roll one rotation before it was deemed in play but that might be b***ks or maybe it was rescinded.
 

Liamo

Well-known member
Yes I read the law and says nothing about 28 inch circumference. Unless it's in a technical guide for refs but something that specific would be in the actual law surely? I have a vague memory hearing sometime in the past that the ball had to roll one rotation before it was deemed in play but that might be b***ks or maybe it was rescinded.
This. Until 1997, the law said:
The ball shall be in play when it has travelled the distance of its own circumference.
In the "great rewrite" of that year, it was changed to:
The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves.
A slight modification in 2016 saw that changed to the current wording:
The ball is in play when it is kicked and clearly moves.
For penalty kicks there is an additional requirement that says:
The player taking the penalty kick must kick the ball forward.
 

bear66

Well-known member
This. Until 1997, the law said:

In the "great rewrite" of that year, it was changed to:

A slight modification in 2016 saw that changed to the current wording:

For penalty kicks there is an additional requirement that says:
Can a player be offside when a penalty is taken? Pass the ball forward but to the side of the box to one of your players. He taps it in as everyone stops in amazement.
 

Liamo

Well-known member
Can a player be offside when a penalty is taken? Pass the ball forward but to the side of the box to one of your players. He taps it in as everyone stops in amazement.
No, because the law also says that:
The players other than the kicker and goalkeeper must be:
[...]
behind the penalty mark
And if they're behind the penalty mark, they're also behind the ball, so can't be offside.
 

chickenrunner

Well-known member
For penalty kicks there is an additional requirement that says:
The player taking the penalty kick must kick the ball forward.
Presumably we're keeping that 'f**k up' in our locker for next time. o_O;)
 

Heam44

Well-known member
That footage isn’t great, that is the best angle to see it. The sky sports footage is clearer though.

Genuinely can’t believe people still think he hasn’t touched it twice.

Despite numerous other Boro fans stating they can clearly see the 2nd touch.

Numerous people pointing out the changing trajectory of the ball.

Numerous people stating the ball was clearly heading towards the bottom right corner / or keepers left before the 2nd touch changes the trajectory towards the middle of the goal. (Even the way Tav ‘shapes’ his left foot as he kicks it shows he has aimed it bottom right).

The fact that Tav (and the rest of the Boro players) barely protest. If he hadn’t of kicked it twice the whole team would have been going crazy.

The fact that Warnock would definitely have said something about it (other than a joke, about a linesman)

There’s even people on this thread accusing others of trying to be clever and lying because others can see a 2nd touch and they can’t.

There’s even people asking why we couldn’t take it again!

If you can’t see it, ask yourself the below questions:

Do I wear glasses?

Have I been meaning to go to the opticians because I’m wondering why if my eyesight is getting worse?

Am I 50+ and therefore of the age whereby my eyesight is naturally getting worse?
Is it strange that multiple other fans have stated that they can clearly see the 2nd touch?

If I (and others can’t see it) but plenty of other people can, is it more likely that I just can’t see it (as opposed to multiple other Boro fans forming a conspiracy to state that they can see it for no reason at all)?

If you find yourself answering yes to the above, it’s time to accept that it happened and you just can’t see it.

Apologies for the rant but it’s doing my head in that people are still saying they can’t see it despite numerous others stating they can.
 

theredrooster

Well-known member
That footage isn’t great, that is the best angle to see it. The sky sports footage is clearer though.

Genuinely can’t believe people still think he hasn’t touched it twice.

Despite numerous other Boro fans stating they can clearly see the 2nd touch.

Numerous people pointing out the changing trajectory of the ball.

Numerous people stating the ball was clearly heading towards the bottom right corner / or keepers left before the 2nd touch changes the trajectory towards the middle of the goal. (Even the way Tav ‘shapes’ his left foot as he kicks it shows he has aimed it bottom right).

The fact that Tav (and the rest of the Boro players) barely protest. If he hadn’t of kicked it twice the whole team would have been going crazy.

The fact that Warnock would definitely have said something about it (other than a joke, about a linesman)

There’s even people on this thread accusing others of trying to be clever and lying because others can see a 2nd touch and they can’t.

There’s even people asking why we couldn’t take it again!

If you can’t see it, ask yourself the below questions:

Do I wear glasses?

Have I been meaning to go to the opticians because I’m wondering why if my eyesight is getting worse?

Am I 50+ and therefore of the age whereby my eyesight is naturally getting worse?
Is it strange that multiple other fans have stated that they can clearly see the 2nd touch?

If I (and others can’t see it) but plenty of other people can, is it more likely that I just can’t see it (as opposed to multiple other Boro fans forming a conspiracy to state that they can see it for no reason at all)?

If you find yourself answering yes to the above, it’s time to accept that it happened and you just can’t see it.

Apologies for the rant but it’s doing my head in that people are still saying they can’t see it despite numerous others stating they can.

Having read numerous threads and comments on this forum about this incident I would say there are more comments from people saying they didn't see a second touch, or that it wasn't clear than from those who definitely did see one.

Having watched it back I can't clearly see a second touch, and would need it slowing down and moving on frame by frame. However at full speed with the naked eye I just don't see it as being as clear and obvious as some are making out. Zenden's was obvious on one replayed viewing but the one yesterday just wasn't clear even after repeated viewings from different angles. What I will say is that the ref obviously has his own angle on the incident so perhaps from his angle something was more obvious to him, he certainly blew up quickly.

I just think cracks about people wearing glasses and needing eye tests are unnecessary and smack of someone effectively saying if you don't agree with me then you must be wrong/blind/clueless etc. Everyone has their own opinion and reaction to the incident. I personally didn't obviously see it but I'm happy to go with the refs call on the basis that no one has challenged it after the game and had their been a massive injustice I'm sure someone in the Boro dressing room would have come out and said something.
 

Block21

Well-known member
That footage isn’t great, that is the best angle to see it. The sky sports footage is clearer though.

Genuinely can’t believe people still think he hasn’t touched it twice.

Despite numerous other Boro fans stating they can clearly see the 2nd touch.

Numerous people pointing out the changing trajectory of the ball.

Numerous people stating the ball was clearly heading towards the bottom right corner / or keepers left before the 2nd touch changes the trajectory towards the middle of the goal. (Even the way Tav ‘shapes’ his left foot as he kicks it shows he has aimed it bottom right).

The fact that Tav (and the rest of the Boro players) barely protest. If he hadn’t of kicked it twice the whole team would have been going crazy.

The fact that Warnock would definitely have said something about it (other than a joke, about a linesman)

There’s even people on this thread accusing others of trying to be clever and lying because others can see a 2nd touch and they can’t.

There’s even people asking why we couldn’t take it again!

If you can’t see it, ask yourself the below questions:

Do I wear glasses?

Have I been meaning to go to the opticians because I’m wondering why if my eyesight is getting worse?

Am I 50+ and therefore of the age whereby my eyesight is naturally getting worse?
Is it strange that multiple other fans have stated that they can clearly see the 2nd touch?

If I (and others can’t see it) but plenty of other people can, is it more likely that I just can’t see it (as opposed to multiple other Boro fans forming a conspiracy to state that they can see it for no reason at all)?

If you find yourself answering yes to the above, it’s time to accept that it happened and you just can’t see it.

Apologies for the rant but it’s doing my head in that people are still saying they can’t see it despite numerous others stating they can.

Totally spot on.
 

Block21

Well-known member
Definitely played the ball twice. The rule however is surely in place to prevent a player taking the ball forward from the spot and scoring. I think in cases like this where it occurs accidentally the kick should be retaken.

I agree. I think a re take is the correct decision rather than a free kick to the opposition team. It’s a very harsh rule. End of the day it should be the opposition getting punished for giving a penalty away.
 

zorro_mfc

Well-known member
Surely the ruling is that the referee has to be positive it was a double touch to rule it out. Even slowed down I am far from convinced it was touched twice. If he had the ball would have changed direction and gone in the opposite direction to what it did.

sadly in every division there are teams that get the benefit of the doubt and those that don’t. We aren’t one of those teams and Norwich probably are.

how many referring decisions at crucial times have wrongly gone against us now? It’s rubbish that they even themselves out over the season.
Officials have directly cost us a Poss 6 pts ( 4 definitely) this season already.

and it’s still only November
 

S7DiscoDown

Well-known member
I still struggle to see a 2nd touch from behind the goal. That said when he slipped it looked like he had double kicked it from behind.... Clear as mud and frankly hardly ever happens.

I think Tavs reaction maybe gives clears up the doubt. He hardly kicked off with the decision. He is also visibly seen winking at a player just after and nodding his head/shrugging his shoulders almost saying 'yes I kicked it twice'.
 
Top
X