Ref on Bbc tees clarifies the rule

Ex Footy Legs

Well-known member
If the ball doesn’t travel a full circumference which is 28inches before striking the ball with his intended foot then it’s not classed as a 2nd strike

OMG

The referees don’t even know the rules!
 

chickenrunner

Well-known member
But he struck the ball with his intended foot then it hits his standing foot, what's the rule then?

The ball flies down the centre because it hit his standing foot. He'd sent Krul completely the wrong way. The rule should be that the kick is retaken if you score in such circumstances.

However have to agree with comments elsewhere about people constantly slipping over (mainly Boro players), and it's not the first game.
 
Last edited:

chickenrunner

Well-known member
Not sure about the 28" stuff, the rule is as follows:

The ball is in play when it is kicked and clearly moves.
The kicker must not play the ball again until it has touched another player.
 

BoroFur

Well-known member
There was a Norwich player in the box before the kick was taken.
Surely that would require a re-take to be a priority over awarding Norwich a free kick?
 

parmoboy

Well-known member
As I said in another thread, it wouldn't surprise me if the referee has assumed it was a double-touch based on Tavs' reaction. Tav should have done a Maradona and ran off celebrating.
 
Top
X