Ref on Bbc tees clarifies the rule

go-nads!

Well-known member
Surely the ruling is that the referee has to be positive it was a double touch to rule it out. Even slowed down I am far from convinced it was touched twice. If he had the ball would have changed direction and gone in the opposite direction to what it did.

sadly in every division there are teams that get the benefit of the doubt and those that don’t. We aren’t one of those teams and Norwich probably are.

how many referring decisions at crucial times have wrongly gone against us now? It’s rubbish that they even themselves out over the season.
 

rob_fmttm

Administrator
If the ball doesn’t travel a full circumference which is 28inches before striking the ball with his intended foot then it’s not classed as a 2nd strike

OMG

The referees don’t even know the rules!
That is exactly what ref Mike Riley said to my dad staying in the same hotel after the Carling Cup final.
Today it did not look like two touches.
 

Erimus74

Well-known member
Surely the ruling is that the referee has to be positive it was a double touch to rule it out. Even slowed down I am far from convinced it was touched twice. If he had the ball would have changed direction and gone in the opposite direction to what it did.

sadly in every division there are teams that get the benefit of the doubt and those that don’t. We aren’t one of those teams and Norwich probably are.

how many referring decisions at crucial times have wrongly gone against us now? It’s rubbish that they even themselves out over the season.
But why can't the spot kick be retaken
 
Surely the ruling is that the referee has to be positive it was a double touch to rule it out. Even slowed down I am far from convinced it was touched twice. If he had the ball would have changed direction and gone in the opposite direction to what it did.
It did go in a different direction it was intended for the right corner and it instead when down the middle.
 

Erimus74

Well-known member
Who thinks of these silly rules, do you think someone had a brain wave that clubs would pracise in football to rehearscsuch penalties, but cheat between games, dive & it's fine
 

go-nads!

Well-known member
It did go in a different direction it was intended for the right corner and it instead when down the middle.
It may have gone in a different direction to where he intended, he slipped which messed his kick up. But once he kicked it, the direction of the ball wasn’t deflected. If there was a second touch from the standing leg, there would have been a change in direction.

Either way, I can’t see any evidence to over rule the goal, as the referee has to be definitive to over rule - definite being the key word.
 

SuperStu

Well-known member
The fact the ball loops up in air slightly and the wild swing of his left leg after he kicked it also gives me the feeling he has kicked it twice.
It did go in a different direction it was intended for the right corner and it instead when down the middle.
The trajectory and spin of the ball shows he hit it onto his standing foot.

Think the difference in opinion on here is that some people are looking at the connection with the ball and can't see a double kick. Others are looking at what's happened after the connection and making the assumption that it must mean there was a double touch.
 

Soutra

Active member
If the ball doesn’t travel a full circumference which is 28inches before striking the ball with his intended foot then it’s not classed as a 2nd strike


Hmmm, Im really not sure where that came from. The rules seem really clear -

"The penalty kicker must not play the ball again until it has touched another player."

There was a match between Leicester and Man City a few years ago where exactly the same thing happened. Riyadh Mahrez for Leicester I think.

I don't know if Tav kicked it twice, but the ref was about 60 yards closer than the tv camera, and Krul and others seem to have seen it. The fact that Tav doesn't protest seems to indicate he knew it had happened. And would he have kicked it right down the middle of the goal if he hadn't deflected it? I doubt it.
 
Top
X