"Thank God it wasn't a goal. Clean sheets are key to being successful." Daniel Farke: BBC Norfolk.

r00fie1

Well-known member

Spot-kick confusion as Norwich edge Boro​

Middlesbrough's Marcus Tavernier takes a penalty

Marcus Tavernier's standing foot gave way as he took Boro's penalty, leading to him touching the ball twice.

Few incidents from the EFL will have been quite so peculiar as the penalty which Marcus Tavernier took at the Riverside on Saturday, aiming to give Middlesbrough the lead against Norwich City.

Tavernier stepped up, lost his footing but still beat Tim Krul in the Canaries goal. Surely 1-0 Boro?

Not according to eagle-eyed referee Tony Harrington, who spotted the Boro forward had touched the ball twice and subsequently gave Norwich a free-kick.

That disappointment was later compounded when Hayden Coulson brought down Max Aarons in the Teessiders box, and Teemu Pukki kept his composure, and his footing, to roll home the winner.

Boro boss Neil Warnock was typically blunt about it, afterwards.

"He just slipped didn't he?" he told BBC Tees. "I've not asked him [Tavernier - about the incident], but that's what the ref said [he did] and he's the main one."
0_Middlesbrough-v-Norwich-City-Sky-Bet-Championship-Riverside-Stadium.jpg
Warnock had little issue with the spot kick at the other end, saying "I'd have given it", while for his opposite number there was merely relief at the outcome.

"It was a clumsy situation with the penalty," Norwich boss Daniel Farke told BBC Radio Norfolk. "Thank God it wasn't a goal. Clean sheets are key to being successful."
 
Last edited:
Top
X